The organs of the Association are:

  • The Executive Board consists of at least three members: The President, the Secretary general
    and the Treasurer

  • The international conference committee consists of a President, a secretary and at least three
    consultants (elected by the General Assembly)

  • The General Assembly, consists of all members of the Association, taking place annually


The Executive Board

  Honorary PresidentMr Paul Gérin-Lajoie, Quebec, Canada

First President of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)

Canadian lawyer and philanthropist

Quebec's first Minister of Education

Companion of the Order of Canada, Grand Officer of the National Order of Quebec

Knight of the Order of the Legion of Honour

Founder of the Paul-Gérin-Lajoie Foundation
  President: Mrs Christine Sidibé, Mali

Expert in Women's Rights and the Right to Education

Former consultant to United Nations Agencies and other International Organizations

Humanitarian engaged in field work in African countries

Ambassador to the African First Ladies

  Vice-President: Pr Abdoulaye Sow, Mauritania

Anthropologist and FGM specialist

President of the Scientific Committee of the Research Group on FGM,
University of Nouakchott

Coordinator of the Interdisciplinary Centre for Cultural Rights

Faculty of Philology and Human Sciences, University of Nouakchott

  Secretary: Mr Louis-Blaise Nzonzi, Congo

Economist and Administrator (MBA)

Specialist in assistance and performance optimization of companies and organizations in the private sector and civil society

  Vice-Secretary: Mrs Geneviève Mermin-Martinez, France

Senior Secretary

Former World Health Organization staff

  Treasurer: Mrs Laurence Servant, France

Consultant in legal affairs

Counsellor for the observation of French laws and regulations

Counsellor for the observation of organization's internal regulations

Liaison officer for the French cicil society


Board Members with consultative status:

  Consultant for United Nations affairs: Mr Denis Chagnon, Canada

Former Head of communications and spokesperson for the United Nations International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)

Former Head of communications for Air Canada

Professional speaker, master of ceremonies and founding president of the Toastmasters Club in Montreal

President of York & Cumberland Communications Inc., specializing in aviation
and humanitarian issues

  Co-founder and Director of Communications: Mrs Elisabeth Wilson, Canada

Former member of the Canadian Press accredited to the United Nations

Canadian-Haitian journalist and media relations consultant

Former radio and television journalist (Canada)

Ex anchor of Planète ONU, aired from the Palais des Nations

Consultant specialized in humanitarian affairs

  Co-founder and Executive Director: Mr Holger Postulart, Germany

Initiator of the Global Alliance against Female Genital Mutilation

German consultant in education and knowledge management

Former consultant for WHO, Geneva

Former Coordinator of the Euro Akademie Wuppertal, Germany

Co-Founder and Partner of Language & Skills

Representatives to the United Nations:

The GA-FGM has the ECOSOC special consultative status and is represented to the United Nations by the President Mrs. Christine Sidibé, the Vice-President Pr. Abdoulaye Sow, Mrs. Christine de St Genois (main representative to the UN in New York), Mrs. Elisabeth Wilson (main representative to the UN in Geneva) and Mr. Holger Postulart.

Furthermore, the organization is representd by:

Representative to the United Nations: Mr Ricardo Espionsa, Switzerland

Former Chief of the NGO and Civil Society Liaision Unit at the United Nations Office, Office of the Director-General, Geneva

Former Acting Director and Head of Global Development and Initiatives, GCHRAGD

President of the Forum Démocratique Mondial, Geneva

Member of the scientific committee of the Plateforme Public Privé for the financing of the Sustainable Development Goals, Geneva

White-Ribbon Ambassador in Switzerland 
  Representative to the United Nations: Pr Moustapha Touré, Mali

Professor at the Faculty of Medicine and Odontostomatology, University of Bamako, Mali

Head of the Department for Gynaecology, the Mali Hospital, Bamako, Mali

Representative of the National Programme to Eliminate FGM, Mali

Secretary-General of the Union Internationale des Gynécologues Obstétriciens